5:2 Meal Plan Mar 2 – 9

Week 8: I’ve been reading Alain Ducasse “Nature” so I’m inspired by that this week. His recipes are new to me, with some interesting ideas and combinations and slightly different techniques, so it will be interesting to see how my ideas evolve. None of the recipes are calorie counted though, so I may need to modify them as I tot up the ingredients.

Thinking about encouraging our shift to more plant-based proteins, I am going to try some Quinoa and see if I can make it in a way that we enjoy, as I think our first experience of it was a bit off-putting.

Seasonal produce from my shopping in Lauzerte market today: broccoli, cauliflower, leeks, rocket, watercress, spring onions, radishes, pears and clementines. I think I have a few parsnips, some beetroot and some salsify left in the garden too. They need to be used soon so that I can prepare the ground for the summer crops.

We eat very well on limited calories: portion sizes are small, but there is plenty of variety – normal days are 1200 kcals for me, 1800 for my husband. If we want to eat or drink more than that, we exercise! I try and include fresh fruit and raw vegetables every day, as well as lots of cooked veggies. Many of our normal meals could equally be used on a fast day.

No snacking for me now at all and I don’t miss it!

This meal plan is intended to support weight loss of 1 – 2lbs a week for us.

Breakfasts not shown except on fast days. Usually we have either porridge or toast, occasionally a boiled egg. We get through one wholewheat loaf of bread in a week, mostly as toast for breakfast, plus some crackers and crispbread with soup. We’ll have some wine over the weekend and a chocolate or two if we want! Luxury!

Saturday

  • lunch: Home-made Pizza – 320 kcal for a half portion for me
    Mixed Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette – 50 kcal
    Satsuma – 30 kcal
  • supper: Spicy Pumpkin Soup (made on Fri)
 120 kcal
    Tuna and Bean Salad with Feta (still using up the feta from Thursday)
    
Home made Vanilla Custard, 120 kcal  (I need egg white for tomorrow), served with a small amaretti biscuit or two

Sunday

  • lunch: Herby Roast Chicken (Alain Ducasse) with seasonal vegetables
    
Chocolate Pear Crispstill needs working on, last weeks was lovely but too calorific at 190kcals. Just using a little cocoa powder really satisfied my chocolate craving and I didn’t even want one of my Belgian chocolates later! Aiming for 120 kcals…
  • supper: Moroccan Spiced Cauliflower & Almond soup (BBC Good Food –  but using less olive oil and almonds) -160 kcals
    we have leftover Pizza to finish up
    Mocha Fromage Blanc – 50 kcal (add a little coffee essence and sprinkle with grated dark chocolate. Use a little sweetener if you need to)

Monday – FAST day

Tuesday

  • lunch: Guacamole (85 kcal) with a few Taco Chips

    Turkey and Bean Chilli
 with brown rice
    Fruit Filo Cups
  • supper: Lentil, Coconut and Spinach Soup (Alain Ducasse)
    Broad Bean and Goats Cheese Tartines (Alain Ducasse) – the Spanish broad beans in the supermarket were flabby, but I have some peeled ones in the freezer to use, along with the lovely fresh goats cheese I bought in the market today
    Spiced Glazed Pineapple with Cinnamon Fromage Frais (BBC Good Food, but with less honey and no sugar, 115 kcals)

Wednesday

Thursday – FAST day

  • breakfast: Porridge with blackberries (110 kcals)
  • dinner: Simple Vegetable Soup(70 kcals)
    Haddock with Poached Egg and Spinach
    (200/300 kcals)
    Satsuma (30 kcals)

Friday

  • lunch: Quinoa, Crispy Vegetables and Herb Pesto (Alain Ducasse)
    fresh fruit salad
  • Butter Bean Goulash Soup
 (from Healthy Eating for Lower Blood Pressure – 150 kcals)
    Chocolate Mousse (The Raymond Blanc recipe that I use is nearly all egg white. I reckon I can do this at under 220 kcals a serving)

Some of the calorie values won’t be worked out until I cook them. I’ll be busy taking photos of everything too. It takes me time to write up the recipes and post them here, so if you have any questions about anything, please don’t hesitate to comment, or contact me through the Facebook 5:2 Intermittent Fasting group, where you’ll find me – Belinda Berry or on twitter @bp_berry

Leave a comment